SimpleFileFetcher for Azure Start up tasks

I know some of you are waiting for more news on my “Simple Cloud Manager” Project. Its coming, I swear! Meanwhile, I had to tackle one fairly common Azure task today and wanted to share my solution with you all.

I’m working on a project where we needed an Azure PaaS start-up task that would download a remote file and unzip it for me. Now there’s several approaches out there of varying degrees of complexity. Powershell, native code, etc… But I wanted something even simpler, a black box that I could pass parameters too that required no additional assemblies/files to work. To that end I sat down and spent about 2 hours crafting the “Simple File Fetcher”.

The usage is fairly simple: simplefilefetcher -targeturi:<where to download the file from> -targetfile:<where to save it to>

You can also optionally specify a parameter that tells it to unzip the file, ‘-unzip’, and another that will make sure downloaded file is deleted, ‘-deleteoriginal’.

I spent most of the 2 hours looking at and trying various options. The final product was < 100 lines of code and now that I know how to do it, would only likely take me 10-20 minutes to rebuild (most of that spend debugging the argument parsing). So instead of boring you all with an explation of the code, I’ll just share it along with a release build of the console app so you can just use it. 🙂

Until next time!

Leave a Reply

