Thinking about Effective Communication

Some time back, I drove to visit my parents; 6 hours alone in the car with only my thoughts. Admittedly, this trip wasn’t recreational so I was pretty introspective and the only distraction I had was random radio stations. At one point during the trip, I happened across a National Public Radio broadcast that focused on communication, “Spoken and Unspoken: TED Radio Hour”.

As I listened to the show, it struck me how communication is key to nearly everything we do. It could be communicating concepts to customers, sharing ideas with colleagues, sharing status with managers and account team associates. But at the crux of it all is how we express information and how it is received.

This program clued me in that texting is transforming our spoken communication. That if you’re talking with folks who have a different first language, some concepts (subjunctive?) simply won’t translate. That history can change what words mean. And lastly the importance of body language not just to my audience, but perhaps to the way we look at ourselves.

What we need to remember is how the way we communicate impacts the impression of the audience. If I smile at person, it means I’m happy. If I smile at a dog, I’m aggressively baring my teeth! By understanding the audience I’m addressing, I can take the appropriate action to really help get my message across. This can extend to understanding how the English language, is both globally unifying and segregating at the same time. By understanding the way communication is perceived by the audience (do I shake hands, or bow), I can make sure I’m communicating the correct message.

Growing up in a rural community in the central United States, the most exotic thing I was exposed to was tacos. So I really only knew the way Americans approached communication. As my career advanced, I started leading teams and eventually found myself in the position of having several team members from India. For a Midwestern farm boy, this was a culture shock. But fortunately I was given a tip… Always start a conversation with a personal greeting or question, never jump straight to business. This ran counter to the way I was always taught to “get to the point”, but I quickly found that my team members from India responded much more favorably when I opened discussions this way. And if you’ve IM’d with me, or even looked closely at my writing, you see this simple advice taken to heart.

The next time you prepare to address an audience, write an email, record a podcast, or author an article, always think about your audience. Know who they are, and try your best to communicate in a manner they will be most receptive too. But most importantly, realize as much comes from what you say, as what you do.

The entire show is broken up into 5 different recordings, each of which is only 5-10 minutes in length. I encourage you to give them a listen and as you do, think about what they mean to you. Try to incorporate some aspect of them into yourself so that you can be a more effective communicator.

PS – Many thanks to Jeremiah Talkar for helping me proof/edit this editorial.

Leave a Reply

