TechEd North American 2012–Day 3

So I got to have a full day of sessions today, complete with a little bit of wandering around the expo floor. As if that weren’t enough, I learned a few things, confirmed some others, and also managed to meet a few folks and help them along the way.

Building Web Sites with Windows Azure

So my first stop after a quick breakfast was to a workshop being run by Brady Gaster and Cory Fowler, friends and members of Microsoft’s Windows Azure DPE (Developer Platform Evangelism). They were jointly running a workshop to help folks create their first windows azure web sites and get them up and running. Brady had a really cool car decal of the Visual Studio 2012 logo for whoever completed the lab first so folks were trying hard. Since I was the ringer in the audience, I just hung back and worked on some email.

Eventually there were enough problems and questions going on that I was drafted to help out and jumped at the chance. I helped one gal past a bug in the preview of the new HTML based management portal, and helped someone else just find their way around (it was their first time learning Windows Azure).

At the end, I had someone stop me to talk about their shop and any opportunities. Fortunately, I was so late to my next session (sorry Karandeep, I know I promised to come) that it was filled up so I had plenty of time to sit and talk. Again, my favorite part of Tech Ed (next to the tackle hug I received from Cory). Smile

As if that weren’t enough, we realized part way through the workshop that the LCD monitors in the workshop lab were actually TOUCH SENSITIVE. I so want one know. I may have to stop by tomorrow and get the model numbers.

Deep Dive into Windows Azure Virtual Machines (from a cloud vendor and enterprise perspective)

My next session was with Vijay Rajagopalan of the MSFT Product team. In this session he did some really detailed walkthroughs of the new Windows Azure Virtual Machine features and more importantly brought up a couple vendors, Scalextreme and RightScale to show us how their products can be used in conjunction with this new feature to really speed up the deployment of new solutions as well as reduce the management burden of a more infrastructure and less passed based solution.

I think my favorite part was seeing that they had automated failover of a SQL Server Virtual Machine. They didn’t take it to a fully automated state where the failure was detected and a backup copy spun up. But it was still very impressive to see that with just the push of a button, a new VM was brought into an active state. They said that with a bit of additional work, you can even automate the provisioning of SQL Server virtual machines and joining them to a cluster to help scale out traffic. Pretty cool stuff I can’t wait to show folks when I get home.

Modern Application Design : Cloud Patterns for Application Architects

My final session was by Ulrich Homann of Microsoft Consulting Services. This session touched on some great topics. I hope folks in the audience were paying attention. I knew many of the tidbits that Uri was talking too, but loved his delivery. I need to put my own version of these items up soon. Smile Once this session recording is posted, I’m going to come back here and make sure I link it so you can all check it out.

Final Notes for Day 2

I ended the day with a visit to the Microsoft Private and Public cloud theater where I watched a vendor presentation and snagged a cool TechEd/Cloud t-Shirt. A great end-cap for the day.

But there was something else I wanted to close out today with. Last night, long after I had posted my day 1 and 2 thoughts, I was invited to dinner with members of the Microsoft cloud team. Aside from the fact that they are all very warm and fun people, I continue to be amazed by how much their thirst for stories about how we use their products. What we tend to forget is that these are developers just like us. And outside of the rare instances where they get to go out and mingle at events, they actually don’t often get to interact with the folks that use their products. And when they get time with someone that is, they can’t seem to get enough about how the tools they built are used.

The story here is that we tend to think that conferences are all about getting swag and getting tips/tricks that make us better professionals. What we need to remember is that these events are as important to Microsoft because it allows them to learn first hand how their products are being used and what challenges their customers still face. So when you stop by a vendor booth, don’t just grab a pen/t-shirt/thumbdrive and duck out before they can scan your badge. Stop and let them know what you think of their products. Help them make it better.

Well, that’s all I have time for today. I have a couple evals to complete yet and then its off to dinner with Mark Brown and a bunch of the Windows Azure Insiders and MVPs.

Until next time!

PS – I’m in a rush, so I apologize for a larger than normal number of typos in this post.

2 Responses to TechEd North American 2012–Day 3

  1. Thanks for the post!

    I’m wondering if you happened to have the online session link for “Modern Application Design : Cloud Patterns for Application Architects”?

    Many thanks for taking the time, especially in a rush to post this.

    Mike

Leave a Reply

