Azure Tools for Visual Studio 1.4 August Update–Year of Azure Week 5

Good evening folks. Its 8pm on Friday August 5th, 2011 (aka international beer day) as I write this. Last week’s update to my year of Azure series was weak, but this week’s will be even lighter. Just too much to do and not enough time I’m afraid.

As you can guess from the title of this update, I’d like to talk about the new 1.4 SDK update. Now I could go to great length about all the updates, but given that the Windows Azure team blog already did, and that Wade and Steve already covered it in this week’s cloud cover show. So instead, I’d like to focus on just one aspect of this update, the Azure Storage Analytics.

I can’t tell you all how thrilled I am. The best part of being a Microsoft MVP is all the great people you get to know. The second best part is getting to have an impact in the evolution of a product you’re passionate about. And while I hold no real illusion that anything I’ve said or done has led to the introduction of Azure Storage analytics, I can say its something I (and others) have specifically asked for.

I don’t have enough time this week to write up anything. Fortunately, Steve Marx has already put together the basics on how to interact with it. If that’s not enough, I recommend you go and check out the MSDN documentation on the new Storage Analytics API.

One thing I did run across while reading through the documentation tonight was that the special container that Analytics information gets written to, $Logs, has a 20TB limit. And that this limit is independent of he 100TB limit that is on rest of the storage account. This container is also subject to the being billed for data stored, and read/write actions. However, delete operations are a bit different. If you do it manually, its billable. But if its done as a result of the retention policies you set, its now.

So again, apologies for an extremely week update this week. But I’m going to try and ramp things up and take what Steve did and give you a nice code snippet that you can easily reuse. If possible, I’ll see if I can’t get that cranked out this weekend. Smile

One Response to Azure Tools for Visual Studio 1.4 August Update–Year of Azure Week 5

  1. Pingback: Windows Azure and Cloud Computing Posts for 8/6/2011+ - Windows Azure Blog

Leave a Reply

