Avoiding the Chaos Monkey

Yesterday I was pleased (and nervous) to be presenting at the Heartland Developers Conference in Omaha, NE. I’ve been hoping to present at this event for a couple years and was really pleased that one of my submissions was accepted. Especially given that the topic was more architect/concept then code. It was only my second time presenting this material and the first time for a non-captive audiance. And given that it was the 2pm slot, and only a handful of people fell asleep or left, I’m pretty pleased with how things went.

I’ve posted the deck for my Avoiding the Chaos Monkey presentation so please feel free to take and reuse. I just ask that you give proper credit and I’d love any feedback on it. I received some great feedback from HDC on the material and will be making some updates that show some real world scenarios and how applying the principles covered in this presentation can address them. I spoke to some of these during the presentation, but agreed with my colleague Eric that it would help to have more concrete and visual examples to drive the message home. I’ve already submitted the talk to two upcoming conferences and hopefully it will get accepted at one. Meanwhile, feel free to snag a copy and drop me a comment with any feedback you have!

One Response to Avoiding the Chaos Monkey

  1. smarx says:

    Nice deck, but I don’t understand the title “Avoiding the Chaos Monkey.” Isn’t Chaos Monkey a tool that helps achieve exactly the resilience you’re advocating?

    Shouldn’t this talk be called “Embracing the Chaos Monkey?” :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,076 other followers

